Balnacra Arts by Vicky Stonebridge

Russel Burn



Here’s the finished painting, Russel burn- as seen in the evening light on Sunday. Enjoyed doing this, frustrated how everything else impinges on painting time.
There are technical things which I want to work through, the work seems to be getting more & more representational, which I’m not sure about. I want to capture the light, textures, colours, movement, contrasts in things; but I want to do so in a lively, expressive manner, minimum brush work & layers, I want to avoid muddying, overworking, labouring over detail. I also want to avoid the techniques used by other local artists painting the same mountains – as plagiarism drives me mad! I’m not looking to recreate photographs. Someone today was talking about trying to paint in an impressionist style, I don’t think one should aim for a particular style but just intuitively find one’s own. Curious then that my work seems to be wandering off on a completely different tangent from me.

3 comments on “Russel Burn

  1. Lee
    September 17, 2009

    That's lovely, Vicky. Just… Wow.

  2. jon haward
    September 22, 2009

    wonderful painting nice use of light makes me miss scotland even more

  3. Nicki MacRae
    September 23, 2009

    Oh that's beautiful 🙂 It has a fresh and tranquil feel to it…

    I know what you mean about your work running away from you – I want the fairy-headed, all energy and high ideas painter I was a year or so back – now I see to be constantly fretting about technical stuff. I guess the 'feeling' painter may come back when the technical stuff becomes second nature… I hope so! :-S

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 16, 2009 by in Uncategorized.

Twitter Updates

Pop Up Pottery on Twitter

my Redbubble shop, for prints, cards, t-shirts etc

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Instagram

Hurrah! These folks made it through the first firing! 
#workinprogress #wip #claysculpture #ceramics #pottery #fairyfolk
