Balnacra Arts by Vicky Stonebridge

Slum Bay Island Ice

Took the dog a walk today down Slumbay Island ( Viking name ‘Slim’ – Not an Island except at really high tides.)  It was a good -5C down there in the shadows, my sock kept falling off inside my wellies, so I felt every degree.  the ice gave the loch a lovely glaze. I still haven’t had time to read the camera manual- I aught to just print it out which would be easier. I have just randomly play with the various settings, the auto is handy for point & shoot, but seems to make the colours rather cold, the ‘snow’ presets were rubbish. the manual light meter seems to give everything a warm cast. Its frustrating as I’m seeing some incredible scenes, and getting great art reference shots, but falling short of great photos.

One comment on “Slum Bay Island Ice

  1. Anonymous
    January 7, 2010

    I know exactly what you mean! but I think you're managing pretty well! – Alison

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 7, 2010 by in Uncategorized.

Twitter Updates

Pop Up Pottery on Twitter

my Redbubble shop, for prints, cards, t-shirts etc

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 30 other followers

Instagram

It was great to meet Yogesh Mahida today, an artist from Gujarat. He's worked with a few mutual friends so it was lovely to meet him myself at last. He threw a cracking big bowl while at the studio, great skills! #masterpotter #artist #ceramics #pottery #wheelthrown #bowl #clay
