Balnacra Arts by Vicky Stonebridge

a Raku Firing

I managed to do a Raku firing today. It is tricky as i don’t have the space or equipment i used to. My glazes have been in storage so long all the labels have fallen off, but slowly I am remembering how to do things. I have a damaged right elbow at the moment, so am off sick from one of my jobs (the one which needs us to be very fit at all times ), one of my other jobs has come to an end. So I am in an inbetween sort of time, worried about how to pay the bills, worried about what happens next or how long it is going to take my arm to heal.  I’m trying to use the time positively ( when not worrying! ) and pick up on doing some creative things which have got neglected with all the organising/ management day-jobs of this summer.  I was a bit stuck for doing this Raku firing because I couldn’t lift the empty gas bottle. However the local supplier did a home delivery which solved that problem. However, today with the kiln all loaded, i found i didn’t have the strength to turn the bottle on! I was about to go and look for a strong neighbour & feeling very sorry for myself when i gave it a hit with the wrench… and that knocked the pressure off so i could turn the valve!

The tiny kiln heated up very quickly. It is quite difficult unloading the pots quickly and covering them in sawdust, its better as a two person job. I also need to buy some new small tongs to pick up fiddly objects.  However I enjoy doing this, i really hope they sell then i can justify doing more and stop worrying about work!  I have missed doing pottery in the 8 years since i had to close my studio, it feels great to be able to do some wee bits and bobs again.

2 comments on “a Raku Firing

  1. Ruan
    November 11, 2013

    will some be put in the shop soon?

    • balnacra
      November 11, 2013

      yes, but if there is anything that catches your eye by all means message me in the meantime, everything is for sale ! x

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 11, 2013 by in Blog and tagged , , , .

Facebook

Pop Up Pottery on Twitter

my Redbubble shop, for prints, cards, t-shirts etc

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

