Balnacra Arts by Vicky Stonebridge

Baskets 2014

Its the time of year again when I go out stalking down good willow rods to weave and instead of waiting for them to dry then soaking them like you are supposed to, i just get stuck straight in trying to work things out with pithy unsuitable materials. However help is at hand, we run lots of classes in the winter as part of the community development project I am involved with. WE have a wonderful basket making expert fairly locally who runs courses here, Monique Bervoets. I’m usually too busy working to join in properly- how frustrating is that organising a class in something I love & not having time to participate?!  This time, I made time, although it has broken me as I had to work the small hours a few days to finish other work… worth it though!  I think the technical learning is coming together in my head a little, by making so many mistakes trying to work things out myself It helps remember the correct answers ! I love my baskets, I love wood, i love sticks, i love patterns, i love manual physical tactile work, what’s not to love about basket weaving ?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 21, 2014 by in Blog and tagged , , , , .
