Balnacra Arts by Vicky Stonebridge

The days are just packed.

2014-05-30 11.24.10Continuing my mission to make baskets in situ, I made this broom basket from broom next to Burghead beach, the branches had been recently bent and broken, so i didn’t need to chop any beautiful bushes in flower. The broom turned out to be the most technically difficult pithy, snappy sticks to work with green yet. and as I guessed the flowers wilted very quickly. But it is lovely just to take time out to work the materials where they grow.
2014-06-11 21.27.57
hurrah! more flowers popping up everywhere, june blossoms suddenly. I’m still treading water with my work/ life/ health balance, trying to work, trying to catch up, trying to earn, trying not to worry, trying to enjoy the good days, storing up sunshine & adventures to combat the less sunny days and stresses. Waiting for something to shift, to give, to change gear & start moving me forwards again. Drawing it up into one page comic strips in the home that the story will unfold & the plot can develop. I’m Still commuting between East & West coast.

SAM_2057A short hill walks, west coast.

2014-05-29 23.32.23Hanging out the harbour, East coast.

SAM_2038

Sculpture/ stone memorial garden, loch loyne. On an adventure south west

SAM_2086Randolph’s leap, River findhorn on an adventure down from the East. Turns out Randolph never leapt, but Alistair and his men did, in yet another medieval battle.

2014-06-08 18.24.27

the latest circular paintings hung at the community iGallery, Lochcarron. Where you will find me doing a shift most Thursdays this month.

2014-06-09 12.48.22Strathcarron Hotel are very kindly displaying & selling my lochcarron Map posters.  Its a great place to stop by on the road to Skye, for banter, occasional music, good food and a great selection of Malts.

2014-05-31 16.24.46This is the  Pictish ‘Maiden stone’, somewhere near Inverurie , near the Battle field of Harlaw hill.

2014-06-13 13.51.162014-06-13 13.54.10These are two of the remaining Burghead bull pictish stones, currently in Elgin Museum Oh yes I went to teh Moray Art college degree Opening show that night, caught up with some lovely friends, got all inspired by Timothy Neat’s Opening speech about art, culture, scottish history and fighting fascism and utterly failed to take any photos…

SAM_2064

Elgin Cathedral got blown up way back  by the Wolf of Badenoch, i think. Its empty round window frames the sky, impressive & foreboding.

SAM_2094

Beauly Gallery is a cracking Gallery in the heart of the small picturesque town of Beauly. It is full of gorgeous unusual work. At the moment it is participating with a few other galleries and venues nearby to have an open art trail of exhibitions & events “ Art around the Firth“. As part of this I was invited along to do a day in residence, painting in the gallery.

SAM_2093

Here are my 3 canvases on display in the window. All the work in this exhibition is small enough for visitors to fit in their luggage!

SAM_2096SAM_2097

I’d been drawing woodmice the night before, so this is a small canvas I started painting while I was there.

SAM_2099

Another Fox in a tree work in progress.
2014-06-17 12.21.43

I work on a few canvases at once, this lets me paint with very watery paint, building up layers, alternating canvases while the paint dries. It was a scorching hot day, the gallery was lovely and cool with a nice breeze coming through the open doors, which helped the paint dry. It was a great atmosphere, friendly, relaxing & calming. a lovely painting day. Lovely to chat to all the enthusiastic art buyers passing by on the trail too.2014-06-17 14.11.30

Mices

 

 

 

When i Got home that night I had a lot of work still to do, But it was still so warm and lovely, by 9pm I decided to take some time out to go kayaking. I haven’t been for a paddle in months because of my wrecked elbow tendon and one of my kayaks is full of holes. But myself and Bruno took the least leaky boat and went to play. A seal came to have a nosey. The sun dipped down late below the mountains. I managed to not drop my camera in the water. I can’t wait to paint these colours into something. So that’s half of June done its thing…what next?SAM_2100
SAM_2112SAM_2138

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2014 by in Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , .

Pop Up Pottery on Twitter

my Redbubble shop, for prints, cards, t-shirts etc

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

Instagram

#inktober2017 #inktober #quicksketch #newpen #brushpen #lochcarron #19
